Encrypted | Login

Focus on Our Future

E&R Fund - Jack S. Krohmer Memorial Fund

Jack S. Krohmer
Dr. Krohmer was considered a pioneer of medical physics and was a charter member of the AAPM. In 1974 he served as AAPM president, and he was a Fellow of the AAPM. He initiated the AAPM Placement Service and operated it for 14 years. He worked to bring young people into the field of medical physics by developing educational initiatives, which included graduate programs in medical physics, instructional programs in physics for resident physicians in radiation oncology, and college-based training programs for radiographers and radiation therapists. Dr Krohmer also served on the Board of Trustees of the ABR from 1972 to 1993. In 1985 he received the AAPM William D. Coolidge Award in recognition of his achievements. In 1992 he was honored with the award of the RSNA Gold Medal, and the ACR presented him with their Gold Medal in 1994. Dr. Krohmer also found time to serve as a consultant to equipment manufacturers and architectural firms, designing many radiation therapy installations. Memorial Funds are governed by AAPM policy AP 99.