Encrypted | Login

Task Group No. 282 - Development of a new universal breast dosimetry method (TG282)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information


To develop and disseminate a new model and corresponding methodology to estimate the breast average glandular dose (AGD) from x-ray based image acquisitions including standard mammography, contrast-enhanced mammography, and breast tomosynthesis. The developed method will include the definitions of a reference air kerma measurement procedure, reference breast representations, and conversion factors to estimate the AGD from the reference measurements. Recommendations regarding the use and limitations of different  metrics such as reference model AGD and patient model AGD will be included. Since it is envisioned that this single new model and method will replace the current disparate methods used in the USA, Europe and the rest of the world, this group will be an official task group of the AAPM and a working group of EFOMP, and will seek the endorsement of its final report by other international societies and agencies, such as the ICRU, IAEA, IEC, etc.

By-Laws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Approved Date(s):4/14/2016 - 12/31/2021
Reviewable Draft Deadline:
Committee Keywords: TG282

Ioannis Sechopoulos
Task Group Chair

2021 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

=complete and up-to-date, =incomplete conflict of interest statement.
VOTING AppointmentsThere are 6 voting members.

up-to-dateJohn M. Boone, PhD

4/4/2016 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateDavid R. Dance, PhD

4/14/2016 - 12/31/2021 Task Group Vice Chair

up-to-dateStephen J. Glick, PhD

7/6/2017 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateKatie W. Hulme, MS

11/7/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateIoannis Sechopoulos, PhD

4/14/2016 - 12/31/2021 Task Group Chair

up-to-dateJ. Anthony Seibert, PhD

8/1/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 9 non-voting members and guests.

up-to-dateHilde T. Bosmans, PhD

5/4/2017 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)

up-to-dateMarco Caballo

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)

up-to-dateOliver Diaz, PhD

5/14/2018 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)

up-to-dateChristian Fedon

11/27/2016 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)

up-to-dateAndrew M. Hernandez, PhD

10/27/2016 - 12/31/2021 Guest (nonvoting)

up-to-dateMelissa L. Hill, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)

up-to-dateRenata Longo

10/27/2016 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)

up-to-dateCarolina Rabin

2/14/2020 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)

up-to-dateRuben Van Engen

4/14/2016 - 12/31/2021 Consultant (nonvoting)
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 0 staff.

See connections to TG282 - Development of a new universal breast dosimetry method