Encrypted | Login

Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on New Science (AHNS)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information

ActivitiesIdentify the big challenges that medicine is facing and articulate ways for medical physics to expand its contribution in science and clinical application. The committee will continue and build upon the work of the previous Ad Hoc Committee to Explore Future Directions in the Science of Physics in Medicine (AHFDS), with new membership of thought-leaders and stakeholders in medicine at large.  The committee will discern where medicine is heading and how medical physics should contribute to its future. The focus will be on science of medical physics but with mindfulness of potential clinical applications. The committee will carefully consider prior work and recommendations by AHFDS, MP 3.0, WG FUTURE, and other committees in its deliberations.
By-Laws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Approved Date(s):3/8/2023
Committee Keywords: No Keywords Entered

James Dobbins
Committee Chair

2023 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

= complete and up-to-date
= up-to-date but expires soon
= incomplete or out of date conflict of interest statement.

VOTING AppointmentsThere are 8 voting members.

up-to-dateErin Angel, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateJames T. Dobbins III, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Committee Chair

up-to-dateGeorges El Fakhri, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateRebecca Fahrig, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateMaryellen L. Giger, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateRobert Jeraj, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateThomas R. Mackie, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateJeffrey H. Siewerdsen, PhD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 1 non-voting members and guests.

up-to-dateElliot Siegel, MD

3/8/2023 - 12/31/2023 Consultant (nonvoting)
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 1 staff.

up-to-dateJill Moton, MBA

4/6/2023 - 12/31/2037 Programs Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)

See connections to Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on New Science (AHNS)