Encrypted | Login

Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Sub-specialization and Credentialing (AHSS)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information

The charge of this Ad Hoc committee is to guide the Board as to how the AAPM can offer a consistent approach to define and affirm sub-specialization in the field of medical physics.
Some specific ideas that the committee might explore are the following:
  1. Consider the current status of sub-specialized definitions offered by other organizations (e.g., ACR)
  2. Identify all existing areas of certification for medical physics-related fields (ABR, ABSNM, ABMP, etc) and their respective subspecialties
  3. Identify all existing and emerging areas needing definition – consider how deep the “sub” needs to be (eg, PET or NM in general, MR-guided therapy?)
  4. Develop a common template for each area (a template for what?)
  5. Foster the formation of sub-groups uniquely positioned to define the requirements for each subspecialty identified in Item 3
  6. Explore how individuals can be credentialed for a sub-specialization
  7. Consider how credentialing can be enabled by, and serve as a revenue source for AAPM
  8. Consider relationship with the ABR – ABR specialty certification as the ground floor (like ABR sub-specialty certificate for added qualification in diagnostic radiology)
  9. Foster the adaptation of the definition(s) of medical physicist certification by other organizations (e.g., ACR, RSNA/QIBA, IAC, ASTRO, SNMMI, etc.)
By-Laws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Approved Date(s):3/3/2023
Committee Keywords: No Keywords Entered

Board of Directors
Ad Hoc Advisory Cmte on Sub-specialization and Credentialing  [Status]

» Conflict of Interest report for AHSS
» Status Reports for Task Groups -
AC | EC | IC | PC | SC | Board Committees | All

Geoffrey Ibbott
Committee Chair

2023 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

= complete and up-to-date
= up-to-date but expires soon
= incomplete or out of date conflict of interest statement.

VOTING AppointmentsThere are 9 voting members.

up-to-dateGeoffrey S. Ibbott, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Committee Chair

up-to-dateKatja M. Langen, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateDimitris N. Mihailidis, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateRebecca Milman, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateShawn C. Paras, MS

3/31/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateJoann I. Prisciandaro, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateBeth A. Schueler, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateJustin B. Solomon, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateKevin A. Wunderle, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Member
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 4 non-voting members and guests.

up-to-dateJay W. Burmeister, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Liaison - ASTRO Practice Qualification (nonvoting)

up-to-dateM Mahesh, PhD, MS

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Liaison - ACR (nonvoting)

up-to-dateGeorge Starkschall, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Liaison - CAMPEP (nonvoting)

up-to-dateXiaohong Joe Zhou, PhD

3/3/2023 - 12/31/2023 Liaison - ABMP (nonvoting)
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 0 staff.

See connections to Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Sub-specialization and Credentialing (AHSS)