

History of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine Southern California Chapter

Chengyu Shi, Jessica Clements, Zhilei Shen, David Hoffman, Talon Thompson.



Founders of the AAPM-SCC

John Schaeflein Jim McIlraith Charles Sondhaus Ralph Worsnop Ralph Haymond Moses Greenfield Norm Baily Jerald Hilbert Amos Norman John Steigerwalt Calvin Rainbolt Myron Wollin Philip Rummerfield

Executive Board of AAPM-SCC 2024

Board Member/ Chapter Representative Tyler Fisher, M.S.

Past President Jessica Clements, M.S. President Chengyu Shi, Ph.D. President-Elect Zhilei Shen, Ph.D. Secretary David Hoffman, Ph.D. Treasurer Talon Thompson, M.S. Webmaster Nzhde Agazaryan, Ph.D. Educational Co-chair Steven Goetsch, Ph.D. Educational Co-chair Marianne Plunkett, M.S. Regulatory Chair Melissa Martin, M.S.

The Southern California Chapter of the AAPM (AAPM-SCC) represents over 445 medical physicists from the regions of southern California and southern Nevada. Until 2023, southwestern Arizona was also part of our chapter. AAPM-SCC was founded in 1970 by, among others, Norman A. Baily, Jerald W. Hilbert, John Schaeflein, and Ralph Worsnop. One of their first major tasks was local arrangements for the Annual National Meeting in San Diego in 1973. Since then, we have hosted national meetings in 1994 (Anaheim), 2003 (San Diego), 2009 (Anaheim), and 2015 (Anaheim) with a future meeting to be held in Los Angeles (2024).

Chapter Meetings

Our chapter has historically had from two to three dinner meetings per year. The format consists of a board meeting in the afternoon, followed by dinner and a short presentation by invited guest speaker(s). We used to have an annual dinner meeting co-hosted by the Los Angeles chapter of the Health Physics Society which was always held at Les Freres Taix Restaurant in downtown Los Angeles, CA. Other meeting locations of note were held at Knott's Berry Farm, and Anderson's Pea Soup Restaurant in Carlsbad, CA. More recently, chapter meetings have been held at local universities, alternating between UCLA, UC Irvine, UC San Diego, and USC.

Mid-Winter Workshops

Early in the history of the chapter, we joined with the Los Angeles Radiological Society (LARS) to attend the Mid-Winter Conventions where we held the educational seminars. Our Mid-Winter Workshops started in 1985 and were held around the same time as LARS. Since 2002, however, Steven Goetsch has organized the January workshops which are primarily held at the Sheraton Universal Hotel in Universal City on the top floor overlooking the San Fernando Valley. These seminars attract speakers from all over the United States. The most recent workshop in 2024 included cutting-edge topics such as FLASH radiation therapy, surviving cyberattack, microbeam radiation therapy, CT scanner purchasing, machine learning in radiomics, AI segmentation, ACR dose index registry, and adaptive therapy. In addition, Dr. Mahadevappa Mahesh presented "Coming Together and Advancing Medical Physics Even Further".

AAPM-SCC Educational Seminars (Norm Baily Awards)

The Norman A. Baily Student Research Award is presented in his memory to outstanding medical physics students, post-docs, and residents at our spring meeting. In 2010, the awards were expanded to three graduate student winners and three post-doc/resident winners. Held concurrently is the AAPM MedPhys SLAM competition. The 2023 competitions were held at the City of Hope Orange County in

2024 mid-winter meeting dinner of invited speakers and chapter officer. From left and clockwise: Varun Sehgal, David Hoffman, Chengyu Shi, Xiaoyu Liu, Sharon Qi, Mahadevappa Mahesh, Xenia Ray, Peter Maxim, Hualin Zhang, Marianne Plunkett, Emilie Soisson, Steve J. Goetsch, Zhilei Shen,



2023 Norm Baily Awards and MedPhys Slam winners: Spencer Welland, Yana Chen, Michael Lauria, Pavitra Ramesh, Morgan Dalv, Bradley Stiehl, and Rupesh Ghimire.

Dr. Norman A. Baily (1915-1992) was a pioneer in medical physics, shaping the field with his expertise in nuclear medicine, radiation oncology, and diagnostic imaging. He earned his Ph.D. in Physics from Columbia University in 1952. In 1968, he became a professor of Radiology and led the Division of Radiological Physics and Engineering at the newly established medical school at the University of California, San Diego, becoming emeritus in 1988, and remaining there until his death in

Dr. Baily's creativity and talent for tackling critical research problems led to a prolific career. Even in his later years, his work continued to break new ground. His final paper, published in Medical Physics in 1992, explored the generation of ultrasound through irradiated materials, hinting at potential applications. Throughout his career, Dr. Baily made significant contributions that stand as landmarks in medical physics. Notable among his works was his research on semiconductor detectors for dosimetry and his theoretical advancements in microdosimetry. He also made pioneering contributions to digital radiography, tomosynthesis, and radiation acoustics.

Despite his research and professional commitments, Dr. Baily remained dedicated to teaching. He mentored postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, and radiology residents, sharing his exceptional intellect and problem-solving skills. He generously offered his time and expertise, serving as an associate editor of Medical Physics and actively participating in professional organizations. His dedication is further reflected by the creation of the annual Norm Baily award by the AAPM-SCC in 1986, recognizing his service and supporting young scientists in Southern California.



Speakers and organizers for the symposium, front row from left to right: Peter Maxim, Sharon Qi, Mahadevappa Mahesh, Xenia Ray, Mary Ellen Jafari, Hualin Zhang, Emilie Soisson; back row from left to right: Maryam Bostani, Zhilei Shen, Marianne Plunkett, David Hoffman, Steven Goetsch, Chengyu Shi, and Xiaoyu Liu



DR. NORMAN BAILY

"I knew Norm as a senior collegaue at UCSD. Since my research ideas required for realization more expertise in electronics and physics than I had mastered. I often turned to him for help and advice. I learned not to rely on his off-the-cuff response but to give his answer time for gestation; then he would produce a thoughtful, insightful, and genuinely helpful solution. So it was that he was most creative in a private and painstaking way; the quick reportee of today's teaching was not his style. Unassuming, he was not an empire builder, and his originality and the extent of his contributions to medical physics were not appreciated by most of his colleagues or the residents. It is an unfortunate aspect of scientific competition that resources and acclaim do not necessarily accrue to the most meritorious people or ideas. His standards, however, always remained high, and he will be remembered for his selflessness and integrity." ---Paul J. Friedman