

History of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine Southern California Chapter

Chengyu Shi, Jessica Clements, David Hoffman, Tyler Fisher, Zhilei Shen



Founders of the AAPM-SCC

John Schaeflein

Jim McIlraith Charles Sondhaus Ralph Worsnop Ralph Haymond Moses Greenfield Norm Baily Jerald Hilbert Amos Norman John Steigerwalt Calvin Rainbolt Myron Wollin Philip Rummerfield

Executive Board of AAPM-SCC 2023

Board Member/ Chapter Representative Tyler Fisher, M.S. President-Elect TBD Regulatory Chair Melissa Martin, M.S.

Past President Jessica Clements, M.S. President Chengyu Shi, Ph.D. Secretary David Hoffman, Ph.D. Treasurer Zhilei (Julie) Shen, Ph.D. Webmaster Nzhde Agazaryan, Ph.D. Educational Co-chair Steven Goetsch, Ph.D. Educational Co-chair Marianne Plunkett, M.S.

The Southern California Chapter of the AAPM (AAPM-SCC) represents over 445 medical physicists from the regions of southern California and southern Nevada. Until 2023, southwestern Arizona was also part of our chapter. AAPM-SCC was founded in 1970 by, among others, Norman A. Baily, Jerald W. Hilbert, John Schaeflein, and Ralph Worsnop. One of their first major tasks was local arrangements for the Annual National Meeting in San Diego in 1973. Since then, we have hosted national meetings in 1994 (Anaheim), 2003 (San Diego), 2009 (Anaheim), and 2015 (Anaheim) with a future meeting to be held in Los Angeles (2024).

Chapter Meetings

Our chapter has historically had from two to three dinner meetings per year. The format consists of a board meeting in the afternoon, followed by dinner and a short presentation by invited guest speaker(s). We used to have an annual dinner meeting co-hosted by the Los Angeles chapter of the Health Physics Society which was always held at Les Freres Taix Restaurant in downtown Los Angeles, CA. Other meeting locations of note were held at Knott's Berry Farm, and Anderson's Pea Soup Restaurant in Carlsbad, CA. More recently, chapter meetings have been held at local universities, alternating between UCLA, UC Irvine, UC San Diego, and USC.

Mid-Winter Workshops

Early in the history of the chapter, we joined with the Los Angeles Radiological Society (LARS) to attend the Mid-Winter Conventions where we held the educational seminars. Our Mid-Winter Workshops started in 1985 and were held around the same time as LARS. Since 2002, however, Steven Goetsch has organized the January workshops which are primarily held at the Sheraton Universal Hotel in Universal City on the top floor overlooking the San Fernando Valley. These seminars attract speakers from all over the United States. The most recent workshop in 2023 included cutting-edge topics such as brain SRS, proton therapy, pair production tomography. Al analysis of CT images. and updates from the AAPM workgroup on treatment planning. In addition, Dr. Todd Pawlicki presented "Quality & Safety, Medical Physics, and AAPM Perspectives from the President-Elect".

AAPM-SCC Educational Seminars (Norm Baily Awards)

The Norman A. Baily Student Research Award is presented in his memory to outstanding medical physics students, post-docs, and residents at our spring meeting. In 2010, the awards were expanded to three graduate student winners and three post-doc/resident winners. Held concurrently is the AAPM MedPhys SLAM competition. The 2022 competitions were held live at the University of Southern California with the option to join virtually. This was our first time holding a hybrid conference.

Norman A. Baily (1915 – 1992) was a pioneer in medical physics, an individual who helped define the profession and was equally adept in nuclear medicine, radiation oncology, and diagnostic imaging. Along the way he made many important research contributions to all three areas. Dr. Baily obtained his Ph.D. in Physics at Columbia University in 1952. In 1968 he assumed the position of professor of Radiology and Chief of the Division of Radiological Physics and Engineering in the new medical school developing at the University of California, San Diego. He remained with UCSD until his death in 1992, becoming emeritus in 1988.

Norman Baily was a highly creative person with a real gift for identifying important research problems and finding practical solutions to them. His research was prolific and did not dim with the passing years. In fact, his last paper appeared in Medical Physics in the May/June 1992 edition. It was entitled. "A Review of the Process by which Ultrasound is Generated through the Interaction of Ionizing Radiation and Irradiated Materials: Some Possible Applications." This was the lead article in the publication accompanying the meeting of the AAPM and Canadian colleagues in Calgary, Canada in August of 1992. In the course of his career he made seminal contributions to a number of areas that may stand as landmarks in the field. This is particularly true of the work that he did on the medical utilization of semiconductor detectors for dosimetry, and his work on the theoretical and experimental development of micro dosimetry. Along the way however, he also made pioneering contributions to the fields of digital raiography, tomosynthesis, and radiation acoustics.

Despite the pressures of his various research endeavors and the obligations of a multitude of professional committees, he always found time to teach his postdoctoral candidates, graduate students, and residents in Radiology. He was endowed with a superb intellect and seemed always to be surprised when others had difficulty in following him in a complicated exposition. He was generous of his time and talent. In addition to his multiple committee obligations, he was an associate editor of Medical Physics, but most of all he was a devoted supporter of the Southern California Chapter of the AAPM. In 1986, in appreciation of his service to our organization and in the spirit of acknowledging young scientists in southern California, the AAPM-SCC created the annual Norm Baily award.

"I knew Norm as a senior colleague at UCSD. Since my research ideas required for realization more expertise in electronics and physics than I had mastered, I often turned to him for help and advice. I learned not to rely on his off-the-cuff response but to give his answer time for gestation; then he would produce a thoughtful, insightful, and genuinely helpful solution. So it was that he was most creative in a private and painstaking way; the quick repartee of today's teaching was not his style. Unassuming, he was not an empire builder, and his originality and the extent of his contributions to medical physics were not appreciated by most of his colleagues or the residents. It is an unfortunate aspect of scientific competition that resources and acclaim do not necessarily accrue to the most meritorious people or ideas. His standards, however, always remained high, and he will be remembered for his selflessness and integrity."

---Paul J. Friedman



2023 mid-winter meeting dinner of invited speakers and chapter officer. From left and clockwise: Zhilei (Julie) Shen, Chengyu Shi, Steve J. Goetsch, Qihui Lyu, Amy Yu, Xiaoyu Liu, David Hoffman, Cally Warren, John Adler, Catherine Gilmore-Lawless , Rock Mickie, Marianne Plunkett, Varun Sehgal.



DR. NORMAN BAILY