#### DVC National Leaders of the AAPM

#### Presidents



John Hale (1962)



(1969)



Robert O. Gorson Nagalingam Suntharalingam (1983)



Alfred Smith

#### Secretaries



Leonard Stanton (1965 - 1971)



D. John Wright (1976 - 1978)



James M. Galvin (1997 - 1999)

#### Treasurers



Benjamin Galkin (1968 - 1973)



Mary Moore (2008 - 2009)

## DVC Officers of 2024

President: Virginia Lockamy

Secretary: Alex Bredikin

President Elect: Teh Lin

Treasurer: Ahmed Eldib

Past President: Laura Doyle

Board Rep: Shannon O'Reilly

#### AAPM Fellows

Harrison, Amy S

Huq, M. Saiful

Lightfoot, David A

Ma, Chang Ming Charlie

Maidment, Andrew D

Maughan, Richard L

Mihailidis, Dimitris N

Moore, Mary E

Mourtada, Firas

Och, Joseph

Pai, Sujatha

Price, Robert A

Saw, Cheng B

Smith, Alfred R

Li, Shidong

Avery, Stephen M Bakic, Predrag

Brown, Karen Carlson, David J

Chen, Lili

Chu, James

Das, Indra J Dave, Jaydev K

Dong, Lei Galkin, Benjamin M

Galvin, James M

Gorson, Robert O

Hale, John

Gingold, Eric L

Grimm, Jimm

Smith, Rene J

Solberg, Timothy D

Stanton, Leonard

Suntharalingam,

Nagalingam

Vinogradskiy, Yevgeniy

Wang, Lu

Wright, D. John

Wu, Andrew

Xiao, Ying Yu, Yan

Zhu, Timothy C

Zhu, Xiaowei

#### National Hosts

The DVC played host to the Annual AAPM Meeting in Philadelphia in 1972, 1996 and 2010.

Of note, the 1972 meeting was the first AAPM meeting to have an exhibit hall. Twenty vendors displayed their goods.



## 2022 Fall Meeting – in person!



# History of the DVC AAPM

# 2024 Young Investigator Symposium Winners

We had an exciting event this year, with a tie for first place! Congratulations to all the YIS award recipients!

1st Place – Brook Byrd - Penn 1st Place – Vincent Dong - Penn 3rd Place – Chris Tyerech - Penn The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists was formed on February 28, 1952 by John Hale and Robert Gorson of University Hospital

S. Reid Warren, Jr. and Ferdinand Werner of University of Pennsylvania

James Bierly of Jefferson and Pennsylvania Hospitals George Henney of

Temple Hospital James Weatherwax and Theodore Miles of Oncologic Hospital

Theodore Sopp of Philadelphia General, Hahnemenn, and Jewish Hospitals.

During the meeting, the founding members elected leadership and formed committees with specific oversight goals. It was decided that the society would meet on the last Thurday of every month.

The first official meeting was held on March 27, 1952. The members would discuss interhospital problems and the future directions of the group.

The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists assimilated into the American Association of Physicists in Medicine when the organization was formed in 1958.

> \*Information obtained from the Philadelphia Radiological Physicists meeting minutes

#### **DVC Presidents**

Ying Xiao Laura Doyle

**Andrew Maidment** Leonard Kim

Amy Harrison

Leonard Stanton Brian Hasson

M. Saiful Huq Cheng Peng

C-M Charlie Ma Mary Moore David George Peter Bloch

David Lightfoot René Smith

Eric Gingold **Robert Gorson Robert Price** Firas Mourtada

Shannon O'Reilly Indra Das

Shawn McNeeley Jatinder Palta Timothy Zhu Jay Reiff

Jerry Edelstein Virginia Lockamy Winnie Zhu Jinsheng Li

Yan Chen John Hale John Sweet Yan Yu

## **AAPM Award Winners**

Coolidge Award

1992 – Nagalingam Suntharalingam

1996 – Leonard Stanton

1998 – Bengt D. Bjarngard

Achievement in Medical Physics

1997 – Robert O. Gorson 1998 – John Hale

2008 – James M. Galvin

Farrington Daniels Award

1992 – M. Saiful Huq

1994 – Harold Perera

### Delaware Valley Area

Reading

Philadelphia

Wilmington

Camden