# American Association of Physicists in Medicine DELAWARE VALLEY CHAPTER (AAPM-DVC)

## **DVC National Leaders of the AAPM**



#### DVC Officers of 2023

President: Laura DoyleSecretary: Alex BredikinYan Che<br/>Yan ChePresident Elect: Virginia LockamyTreasurer: Tawfik GiadduiShannoPast President: Leonard KimBoard Rep: Shannon O'ReillyIndra Da

#### **DVC Presidents**

Peter Bloch	Brian Hasson	Cheng Peng
Yan Chen	M. Saiful Huq	Robert Price
Shannon O'Reilly	Leonard Kim	
Indra Das	Jinsheng Li	Jay Reiff René Smith

John Hale Robert O. Gorson Nagalingam Suntharalingam Alfred Smith (1962) (1969) (1983) (1990)

#### Secretaries





Leonard Stanton (1965-1971) D. John Wright (1976 - 1978)

James M. Galvin (1997 - 1999)

#### Treasurers



Benjamin Galkin (1968 - 1973)

Mary Moore (2008 - 2009)

#### **AAPM Fellows**

(2023 newly-elected fellow highlighted):
Avery, Stephen M; Bakic, Predrag; Brown, Karen; Carlson, David J; Chen, Lili; Chu, James; Das, Indra J; Dave, Jaydev K; Dong, Lei; Galvin, James M; Galkin, Benjamin M; Gingold, Eric L; Gorson, Robert O; Grimm, Jimm; Hale, John; Harrison, Amy S; Huq, M. Saiful; Li, Shidong;
Lightfoot, David A ; Mihailidis, Dimitris N; Moore, Mary E; Mourtada, Firas; Maidment, Andrew D; Maughan, Richard L; Ma, Chang Ming Charlie; Och, Joseph; Price, Robert A; Pai, Sujatha; Smith, Alfred R; Solberg, Timothy D; Saw, Cheng B; Smith, Rene J; Stanton, Leonard; Suntharalingam, Nagalingam; Vinogradskiy, Yevgeniy; Wang, Lu; Wright, D. John; Wu, Andrew; Xiao, Ying; Yu, Yan; Zhu, Timothy C; Zhu, Xiaowei

Laura Doyle	David Lightfoot	Leonard Stanton			
Jerry Edelstein	C-M Charlie Ma	John Sweet			
David George	Andrew Maidment	Ying Xiao			
Eric Gingold	Shawn McNeeley	Yan Yu			
Robert Gorson	Mary Moore				
John Hale	Firas Mourtada	Timothy Zhu			
Amy Harrison	Jatinder Palta	Winnie Zhu			
AAPM Award Winners					
Coolidge Award 1992 – Nagalingam Suntharalingam					

1996 – Leonard Stanton

#### National Hosts

# The DVC played host to the Annual AAPM Meeting in Philadelphia in 1972, 1996 and 2010.

Of note, the 1972 meeting was the first AAPM meeting to have an exhibit hall. Twenty vendors displayed their goods.

## 2022 Fall Meeting – in person!



1998 – Bengt D. Bjarngard

Achievement in Medical Physics 1997 – Robert O. Gorson 1998 – John Hale 2008 – James M. Galvin

Farrington Daniels Award 1992 – M. Saiful Huq 1994 – Harold Perera

**Delaware Valley Area** 

Reading

Philadelphia

Wilmington

Camden

# 2023 Young Investigator Symposium Winners

We had an exciting event this year, two

## History of the AAPM-DVC

The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists was formed on February 28, 1952 by John Hale and Robert Gorson of University Hospital S. Reid Warren, Jr. and Ferdinand Werner of During the meeting, the founding members elected leadership and formed committees with specific oversight goals. It was decided that the society would meet on the last Thurday of every month.

#### ties for first and second place! Congratulations to all the YIS award recipients!

1st Place - Mario Gallardo - UPENN 1st Place - Cullen Boyle - Jefferson 2nd Place - Jiayi Liu - UPENN 2nd Place - Hai Siong Tan - UPENN University of Pennsylvania James Bierly of Jefferson and Pennsylvania Hospitals George Henney of Temple Hospital James Weatherwax and Theodore Miles of Oncologic Hospital Theodore Sopp of Philadelphia General, Hahnemenn, and Jewish Hospitals. The first official meeting was held on March 27, 1952. The members would discuss interhospital problems and the future directions of the group.

The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists assimilated into the American Association of Physicists in Medicine when the organization was formed in 1958.

> \*Information obtained from the Philadelphia Radiological Physicists meeting minutes