# DVC National Leaders of the AAPM

### Presidents



John Hale (1962)

Secretaries



Leonard Stanton (1965 - 1971)



D. John Wright (1976 - 1978)

(1969)



Robert O. Gorson Nagalingam Suntharalingam Alfred Smith

(1983)

James M. Galvin (1997 - 1999)

#### Treasurers



Benjamin Galkin (1968 - 1973)



Mary Moore (2008 - 2009)

# National Hosts

The DVC played host to the Annual AAPM Meeting in Philadelphia in 1972, 1996 and 2010.

Of note, the 1972 meeting was the first AAPM meeting to have an exhibit hall. Twenty vendors displayed their goods.

# 2021 Young

# Investigator Symposium Winners

1st place: Allison Haertter, University of Pennsylvania.

2nd place: Dae-Myoung Yang, Fox

Chase Cancer Center

3rd place: Trevor L. Vent, University of

Pennsylvania

## DVC Officers of 2021

President: Shannon O'Reilly

Secretary: Teh Lin

President Elect: Leonard Kim

Treasurer: Abhirup Sarkar

Past President: Cheng Peng

Board Rep: Andrew Maidment

# Recent DVC Annual Symposia

2021 - New Frontiers in Medical Physics

2019 – Future Landscapes of Medical Physics

2018 – When Imaging and Therapy Collide

2017 – Advanced and Practical Topics in Imaging and Radiotherapy

2016 – The Expanding Role of Informatics in Medical Physics

2015 – The Future of Medical Physics: Technological Innovations and Professional Updates

# **AAPM Fellows**

Avery, Stephen M; Carlson, David J; Chen, Lili; Chu, James; Das, Indra J; Dave, Jaydev K; Dong, Lei; Galvin, James M; Galkin, Benjamin M; Gingold, Eric L; Gorson, Robert O; Hale, John; Harrison, Amy S; Huq, M. Saiful; Li, Shidong; Lightfoot, David A; Mihailidis, Dimitris N; Moore, Mary E; Mourtada, Firas; Maidment, Andrew D; Maughan, Richard L; Ma, Chang Ming Charlie; Och, Joseph; Price, Robert A; Pai, Sujatha; Smith, Alfred R; Solberg, Timothy D; Saw, Cheng B; Smith, Rene J; Stanton, Leonard; Suntharalingam, Nagalingam; Wang, Lu; Wright, D. John; Wu, Andrew; Xiao, Ying; Yu, Yan; Zhu, Timothy C; Zhu, Xiaowei

#### Brian Hasson Peter Bloch

**DVC Presidents** 

Cheng Peng

Yan Chen

M. Saiful Huq

**Robert Price** 

Shannon O'Reilly Jinsheng Li

Jay Reiff

Indra Das

**David Lightfoot** 

René Smith

Jerry Edelstein

C-M Charlie Ma

**Leonard Stanton** 

David George

Andrew Maidment John Sweet

Eric Gingold

Shawn McNeeley

Firas Mourtada

Yan Yu

Ying Xiao

Robert Gorson

Mary Moore

Timothy Zhu

**Amy Harrison** 

John Hale

Jatinder Palta

Winnie Zhu

# **AAPM Award Winners**

### Coolidge Award

1992 – Nagalingam Suntharalingam

1996 – Leonard Stanton

1998 – Bengt D. Bjarngard

Achievement in Medical Physics

1997 – Robert O. Gorson

1998 – John Hale

2008 – James M. Galvin

Farrington Daniels Award

1992 – M. Saiful Huq

1994 – Harold Perera

# History of the AAPM-DVC

The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists was formed on February 28, 1952 by John Hale and Robert Gorson of

University Hospital

S. Reid Warren, Jr. and Ferdinand Werner of University of Pennsylvania

James Bierly of

Jefferson and Pennsylvania Hospitals George Henney of

Temple Hospital

James Weatherwax and Theodore Miles of Oncologic Hospital

Theodore Sopp of Philadelphia General, Hahnemenn, and Jewish Hospitals.

During the meeting, the founding members elected leadership and formed committees with specific oversight goals. It was decided that the society would meet on the last Thurday of every month.

The first official meeting was held on March 27, 1952. The members would discuss interhospital problems and the future directions of the group.

The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists assimilated into the American Association of Physicists in Medicine when the organization was formed in 1958.

> \*Information obtained from the Philadelphia Radiological Physicists meeting minutes

# Delaware Valley Area

Reading

Wilmington

Camden

fusior designed by Michelle Fu 2013